State Executive Board

Welcome to CASCWA

Gricelda Cardenas 2017 2

Dear CASCWA members and partners in education:

My name is Gricelda Cardenas and I am very excited to be your 2017-2018 CASCWA State President. I have been a CASCWA member for the past 10 years and I have loved every year of my membership. I currently coordinate the foster children & youth and the parent engagement program at Woodland Joint Unified School District.  Thus you can see how my involvement with CASCWA has been an important resource for the work that I do.

CASCWA has allowed me access to other professionals that have been there to answer questions or provide guidance when dealing with challenging situations. I have also learned innovative strategies that have helped me support students that experience homelessness, foster care, and the many issues surrounding truancy.  Aside from the networking and the learning, the best experience I’ve had with CASCWA has been the opportunity to present various scholarships to students who embody resiliency.

At this year’s State Board Summer Retreat we reviewed CASCWA goals and discussed the type of impact we want to have this year. We will continue focus on equity, improving member services, and creating partnerships with other associations and organizations.  The plan is to increase the number of people reached throughout California; with the ultimate goal of helping students succeed in life.

I really appreciate all of our State Board Members and am thankful for their commitment in supporting the CASCWA Mission. Thank you all for the wonderful work that you do within your counties, districts, and schools to help support students every day.  You truly amaze me!

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or suggestions on how we can improve our service to you.

Sincerely,

Gricelda Cardenas

State President

 

2017-18 CASCWA State Board Meeting Dates

Date           Time                          Location

8/3/2017        10:00 AM – 12:00 PM          Online Teleconference
9/15/2017      10:00 AM – 12:00 PM          Online Teleconference
10/12/2017    10:00 AM – 12:00 PM          Online Teleconference
11/16/2017    10:00 AM – 12:00 PM          Online Teleconference
1/11/2018      10:00 AM – 12:00 PM          Online Teleconference
2/16/2018      10:00 AM – 12:00 PM          Online Teleconference
3/8/2018        10:00 AM – 12:00 PM          Online Teleconference
4/12/2018      10:00 AM – 12:00 PM          Online Teleconference
5/18/2018      10:00 AM – 12:00 PM          State Conference – Fresno

 

State CASCWA Executive Board Members

 

President

Gricelda Cardenas 2017 2

Griselda Cardenas

Woodland Joint Unified School District

Gricelda.cardenas@wjusd

 

 

Brian g2

President Elect

Brian Gonzales

Kings County Office of Education

bpgonzales@kingscoe.org

 

Vice President

Evelyn Ocasio

Principal,  Ruus Elementary School

eocasio@husd.k12.ca.us

 

 

Florence Sparks Copeland 7-12-2017 b

Secretary

Francesca Sparks-Copeland

Coordinator, Special Education, Victor Valley Union HSD

FCopeland@vvuhsd.org

 

Dennis Wiechmann A

Treasurer

Dr. Dennis Wiechmann

Sanger Unified School District

dwiechmann@sbcglobal.net

 

Tim Catlin a

Immediate Past President

Tim Catlin

ABC Unified School District

tim_catlin@abcusd.us

 

Bill Whitton2

Bay Section President

Bill Whitton

Newark Unified School District

wwhitton@newarkunified.org

 

IMG_6138

Delta Sierra President

Lisa Sanchez

Woodland Joint Unified School District

Lisa.Sanchez@wjusd.org

 

Brian Chandler 2

San Joaquin Section President

Brian Chandler

Ceres Unified School District

bchandler@ceres.k12.ca.us

 

Jeni Mendel 1

Southern Section President

Jeni Mendel

Grossmont Union High School District

Jmendel@guhsd.net

 

dan-sackheim a

Northern Legislative Representative

Dan Sackheim

California Department of Education

dsackhei@cde.ca.gov

 

ShermanG

Southern Legislative Representative

Sherman Garnett

San Bernardino County

Sherman_garnett@Sherman-garnett-and-associates.com

 

Brian Chandler 1

State Webmaster

Brian Chandler

Ceres Unified School District

bchandler@ceres.k12.ca.us

 

Jennifer Kottke 7-12-2017 a

Intercom Newsletter Editors

Jennifer Kottke & Frank Boehler

LACOE & OUSD Retired

Kottke_Jennifer@lacoe.edu

frank_boehler@roadrunner.com

 


Become a Member!

Become a member and receive discounted registrations for our workshops and conferences, access to our “Ask the Experts” services, and discounts for many educational legal publications.

Click here to become a member of CASCWA!

Return to the Home Page