Bay Section

President’s Message

Hello Bay Section Members and Friends!
Bay Section is actively preparing the our Annual Fall Conference, this year to be held at the Alameda County Office of Education in Hayward California, on Wednesday, November 29, 2017.  The Workshop is themed: HOT TOPICS in Student Services.  In addition to guest attorney speakers, we will hold the raffle and discuss the several generous student scholarship opportunities of Bay Section and the State Board provided scholarships.
The Bay Executive Board is also busy planning the 2019 State Conference.  The choices of venues are being narrowed to inviting and exciting properties that showcase the northern California Bay Area and nearby areas.
There are notably more “new-faces” in the crowd at the several county and regional area meetings that we attend.  It is exciting times for those of us in student services and the allied fields — to see the increased emphasis on attendance of students as THE main vehicle to increase achievement and close the persistent achievement gaps.  Foster Youth and Homeless Education are now at the forefront of everyone who is involved in LCAP development.  It is incumbent on us in CASCWA to reach out individually as well as collectively to the new folks entering our ranks — to welcome them and to point them in the direction of the professional development opportunities that our Sections can provide, and our State can promote.
I challenge all CASCWA members who read this to rededicate ourselves to reach out in the spirit of how our own mentors reached out to us as we began our career.  Invite those you meet at meetings and gatherings to join CASCWA and to become fully active members.
Bill Whitton
Bay Section President

2017-18 Bay Section Executive Board Meetings:

2017-18 – 4:30-6:30 – Alameda COE

November 8th

January 31st

March 28th

April 18th

May 25th – tentative date for Spring Workshop

Upcoming Workshops / Events


Fall Workshop – Wednesday, November 29, 2017 (Alameda COE) Click on flyer below: 

Bay Section Fall Workshop 2017


2017-18 Bay Section Student Scholarship Program

Each year, Bay Section CASCWA awards $500.00 Scholarships to deserving, graduating high school seniors who have overcome unique obstacles and difficulties.  For more information, please click on the links below:

Cascwa scholarship letter Bay

cascwa Scholarship application Bay


Bay Section Officers



Will Whitton

Newark Unified School District



Vice President

Andrew Kevy

Hayward Unified School District



Evelyn Ocasio

Hayward Unified School District





Alan Del Simone

Retired, West Contra Costa USD





Past President, Secretary, Scholarship Chair, 2019 State Conference Chair


Janet McMurray

West Contra Costa Unified








Bay Section Scholarships



Become a Member!

Become a member and receive discounted registrations for our workshops and conferences, access to our “Ask the Experts” services, and discounts for many educational legal publications.

Click here to become a member of CASCWA!

Return to the Home Page